Abbeywood Community School

Book a Visit

01454 862986


Chief Executive Officer

Mr Dave Baker


Dr Dave Howe

Deputy Headteacher

Mr Ben Dilley

Assistant Headteacher

Mrs Sharon Beesley

Assistant Headteacher

Mrs Carolyn Tipler

Assistant Headteacher

Mr Ian Henry

Finance Business Manager 

Sue Wright

Personnel & Admin Manager

Mrs Catherine Thompson

We hold a SLT Drop-in session every Friday 2:45 - 3:30 p.m.  -  no appointment necessary. 

The school is organised into three Key Stages under the leadership of: 

KS3 & KS4

Key Stage Leaders

Year 6 & 7 Mr Seb Doyle

Year 8 & 9 Miss Sophie Gilmore

Year 10 & 11 Mr Richard Bendry

Pastoral Manager

Mrs Karen Harding

Pastoral Support Assistants

Miss Lisa Bamford

Mrs Nicola Lopeman

Mr Albert Gardiner

Mrs Sarah Phillips - Maternity Leave

Mrs Clare Evans



Director of Post 16

Mrs Gemma Shafto

Assistant Director of Post 16

Miss Sarah Traynor

If you wish to contact a member of staff at the school please email for their attention.

Staff name


Mrs Tanya Attewell-Smith    


Dr Anna Baker


Mr Josh Baker  


Mr Richard Baker     

Subject Leader PE

Mrs Lisa Bamford    

Pastoral Support Assistant/Attendance

Lead/Safeguarding Team

Young Carers contact

Mrs Sharon Beesley

DT & Assistant Headteacher

Mr Richard Bendry    

Humanities and Key Stage Leader (Year 10 & 11) - Associate Leader

Miss Amy Bibbs    

Maths - 2nd in Maths 

Mrs Niki Blake  

Cover Supervisor

Mr Ashley Bowe  

Design Technology Team Leader

Miss Mary Bulgin  


Miss Sophie Bullock

Health & Social Care & Humanities

Mrs Karina Canwell    


Mr Adam Cartwright   

Design Technology – 2nd in DT

Mr Frank Clarke   

Subject Leader Drama

Miss Jessica Clarke  

Psychology/Health and Social Care 

Miss Georgia Clayfield     


Ms Jessica Clements

Science Technician

Mrs Dawn Clutterbuck   

Finance Assistant

Mr Chris Cottrell     

Teaching Assistant

Mrs Angela Curley   


Mrs Sally Curtis     

English – 2nd in English

Miss Sarah Daly

Teaching Assistant

Mrs Sarah Davies    

Design Technology

Mrs Emma Davis   

Exams, Assessment and Data Team Leader 

Mrs Amy Dawson

Science - Maternity Leave

Mr Ben Dilley    

Deputy Head

Mr Seb Doyle    

PE & Key Stage Leader (Year 6 - Transition & Year 7)

Miss Rosie Driscoll

Attendance Improvement Officer

Mr Joshua Duckworth

Social Sciences Faculty Lead - Seconded SLT

Miss Caroline Eastes   

Cover Supervisor

Mr James England

Teaching Assistant

Mrs Clare Evans

Pastoral support

Ms Melanie Feltham

Cover Supervisor

Mr Adam Fletcher

DT & Art Technician

Mr Jack Ford    

Evening and Weekend Lettings Assistant

Mrs Katie Ford

Pastoral Admin Support

Mrs Natasha Forgham   

English – Lead Practitioner  

Mr Albert Gardiner    

Pastoral Support Assistant & Safeguarding Team

Mrs Catherine Geary


Miss Sophie Gilmore  

PE & Key Stage Leader (Year 8 & 9)

Mr Pablo Gonzalez


Dr Nicholas Gover


Miss Kayleigh Griffiths    


Mrs Rebecca Grigg    

Admin Support + P16 Attendance

Mrs Jane Guy   

Art – Subject Lead

Miss Becky Gye


Mr Simon Hale     

Site Manager

Ms Emily Hallett

Library Assistant

Mrs Jane Harding    

Assistant SENCo KS4

Mrs Karen Harding  

Pastoral Manager and Designated Safeguarding Lead - Associate Leader

Mr Simon Hardy    

Team Leader Maths - Seconded SLT

Ms Sarah Harvie     


Ms Jane Hatfield     

School Counsellor

Mr Ian Henry    

PE & Assistant Headteacher Inclusion

Miss Kirstie Hill

First Aid Assistant (mornings only)

Mrs Victoria Hinton     

English and Drama

Mrs Zoe Hopkinson


Dr David Howe    


Mr Oliver Hurst

Teaching Assistant

Mr Tom Ivey   

Subject Leader History 

Mr Sam Jeeves   

Science - 2nd in Science

Mrs Mira Jenkins      

Teaching Assistant

Mrs Elizabeth Jones      

Assistant SENCo KS3

Mr Laurie Jones     

Subject Lead Music

Miss Megan Jones  

Teaching Assistant

Mrs Tammy Jones  

Design Technology

Mr Simon Kesteven  


Mrs Jane Knight    

Attendance Administrator

Miss Rachel Land    


Ms Michelle Lang

Art/Photography subject lead

Mrs Sharon Leatherby    

Office Manager

Mr John Lewis   

Teaching Assistant

Mr Jonathan Ley  


Mr Jose Llanos    

Teaching Assistant

Mrs Nicola Lopeman  

Pastoral Support Assistant & Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead

Miss Laura Mahoney   

PE – Team Leader Performance

Mrs Kate Matuszak  

Teaching Assistant

Miss Sophie Maxted


Mrs Kelly McDowell   

Art - Maternity Leave

Mrs Samantha Milkins  

Teaching Assistant

Mrs Clare Mills

Facility Services Admin

Mr Robert Muranda     

Cover Supervisor + WEX + CEIAG

Akosua Nkrumah-Schmidt          

Teaching Assistant

Mr Martin Noble     


Mr Michael Norris    

Teaching Assistant

Ms Claire Northam

Teaching Assistant

Mrs Maouya Nouas   

French - Faculty Leader MFL

Mrs Susan O’Neill   

SEN Admin Support/First Aid

Mr Richard Pellow  

Humanities – subject lead RS

Mrs Ann Peplow   


Mr Robert Perry  


Mrs Sarah Phillips     

Pastoral Support Assistant - Maternity Leave

Miss Eunice Pickles


Miss Agnieszka Piskorowska     

Teaching Assistant 

Mrs Vasumathi Prasad    

Teaching Assistant

Mrs Debra Pring   

Admin Support

Sumbul Rafiq-Hussaini                  

Teaching Assistant

Miss Lynsey Ridd


Mr Mark Rogers       

Lettings Assistant

Miss Kathryn Ross     

SENCo & Maths

Mr James Roy


Mrs Moira Ruff   

Exams Officer

Mrs Angela Sanders


Mr Greg Seal   

Team Leader Science - Associate Leader             

Mrs Gemma Shafto    

Director of Post 16          

Mr Cole Simpson      

Teaching Assistant + DofE Co-ordinator    

Miss Laura Smale    


Mr Peter Smart

Subject lead Geography

Mrs Helen Smith


Ms Kate Stanleigh

Head of Humanities

Ms Laura Storey   

English & Accelerated Reader/Literacy

Ms Keira Swansbury  

Lead Teaching Assistant SEN K and Transition

Miss Debbie Swindail  

Library Assistant

Miss Helen Sykes 


Ms Marina Symonds


Mr Nathan Taylor     


Ms Wendy Taylor   

Finance/Data and Exams Assistant

Mrs Teresa Teale    

Technician (Food/Textiles)

Mrs Catherine Thompson 

Personnel and Admin Team Leader

Mrs Carolyn Tipler   

Music - Assistant Headteacher

Miss Daisy Tipping


Mr Ioannis Trakas 


Miss Sarah Traynor  

History  & 2nd in Post 16

Miss Fiona Wallace

Teaching Assistant

Miss Ceri Ward  

Team Leader English

Miss Andrea Watkins


Mr Alex West

Science Technician

Miss Kerri Woodward   

Science - Maternity Leave

Mrs Sue Wright Finance Business Manager
Mrs Sue Xin   Finance Assistant 
Miss Jessica Young Maths